Fort Worth ISD partners with NCAA for Readers Become Leaders program

Fort Worth ISD has partnered with the NCAA, Scholastic, Read Fort Worth and Visit Fort Worth to implement Readers Become Leaders into the District’s elementary schools. More than 15,000 K – 5th grade students from 37 schools are participating in the program which kicked off on January 28 and runs until April 12.  Students competing in the program log their minutes read every day and each grade/school accumulates those minutes as the ISD tracks their progress.  Students receive incentives along the way which include goodies from the NCAA (i.e. bags, water bottles, lanyards, etc….) and the top three teams will get a field trip to the National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championship open practice on Thursday, April 18 where the winner will be announced. 

Click here for more information about the Readers Become Leaders program.

    FORT WORTH ISDTeamworks LogoFort Worth Sports LogoScholasticRead Fort Worth

Participating Schools

Alice D. Contreras ES
Benbrook ES
Bill J. Elliott ES
Bonnie Brae ES
Burton Hill ES
Cesar Chavez ES       
Charles E. Nash ES
Christene C. Moss ES           
Como Montessori
Dolores Huerta ES
East Handley ES
Glen Park ES

H.V. Helbing ES
Harlean Beal ES
Hubbard Heights ES
Leadership Academy at Como ES
Leadership Academy at John T. White ES
Lily B. Clayton ES
M.H. Moore ES
Manuel Jara ES
Meadowbrook ES                 
Natha Howell ES
Oakhurst ES
Oaklawn ES

Ridglea Hills ES
Rosemont ES
Ruffino Mendoza ES
Sagamore Hill ES
Sam Rosen ES
Seminary Hills Park ES
South Hi Mount ES
Van Zandt-Guinn ES
Versia L. Williams ES
Waverly Park ES
West Handley ES
Westcliff ES   
Westpark ES